User Name:

Password:

FAQ Donate Join

General Discussion
A Friendly Texas 'Howdy'

Hello to all. My name is Daniel.I'm a Texan, although not an Austinian. I live in the DFW area and teach History and English at a small Christian school. I found the ACA through watching a debate between Richard Dawkins and John Lennox on You Tube. I like Dawkins on a personal level but feel his arguments against God are sort of thin. I enjoy discussion with unbelieving people. Do I think I can prove God exists or that I can "convert" someone on line? Heavens no. I thought I would simply introduce myself and perhaps initiate a discussion or two on some interesting topics if anyone was willing. Scripture, science, philosophy, Christianity, evolution, culture, morals, ethics, The God Delusion (yes, I have read it) or anything else.

I do not claim to have all the answers. I'm a teacher. I'm not a scientist, theologian, physicist or apologist. But I do believe the common folk can still robustly participate in discussions which touch upon these subjects because they all have something to say to each of us, regardless of our professions or level of knowledge or understanding of them. I recently watched a video discussion from the ACA from last June and while I disagreed with the theological conclusions they were making, I liked the candor, wit and personality of the hosts.

I hope to have a few good exchanges! So, 'Howdy' from a fellow Texan and theist, if nothing else.

Toodles for now.

Daniel

Howdy back at ya!

I'm a theist-friendly atheist (sort of like being a gay-friendly straight man) and welcome you.