User Name:

Password:

FAQ Donate Join

Atheist Community of Austin
Atheism defined?

Often when Christians bring up morality, they try to dump Stalin, Mao and Pol Pot on Atheism to score points.

The response from Atheists are varied but they never seem to call the Christians on their categorical fallacy.

When you say they are Atheists that is true, but it is also true to say the Crusaders were Theists. This does not mean that the Crusaders were Muslim, Hindu, Jewish or so on.

Meanwhile the accusation is that all Atheists(Raëlians, Buddhists, Skeptics and so on) had the same beliefs as Stalin, Pol Pot and Mao.

Theism and Atheism address a question. You cannot accuse all Theists for the actions of Catholics nor can you accuse all Atheists for the actions of Maoists.

Or am I wrong?

Apologies for any punctuation, grammar, coherency and spelling issues. I am a poor student of written English.

I think there are two issues here. First, is that beliefs inform action. Since atheism is the lack of particular class of beliefs, it's difficult-to-impossible to justify the claim that Stalin, Mao, or Pol Pot committed genocide because they lacked beliefs. In all cases, they acted based on what they did believe, which had nothing to do with atheism.