User Name:

Password:

FAQ Donate Join

Atheist Community of Austin
Mind/ body problem

I love the show and am currently watching a bunch of youtube download that I stumbled upon while watching george Carlin. I am a philosophy student and wonder what is answer to the mind body problem if you feel everything is of a physical nature? Do you think dreams are just off shoots of energy? How can I have a thought which is not physical in nature and that creates movement of my body whic is physical in nature? I think you'll are great. I do not believe in a GOD perse but I do believe that there is a spiritual component to people. Let me know what you think and I love the show. Keep up the good work.

The new book (The Accidental Mind: How Brain Evolution Has Given Us Love, Memory, Dreams, and God) by David J. Linden. Cambridge, Mass, Harvard University (I asked them to order this at my library.) I read a review that states there are chapters on brain assembly; sensation and emotion; learning, memory, and individuality; sleep, dreams, and their possible functions; and sex, love, and some of their varieties, the religious impulse. He proposes and discusses a potentially important neurobiological contribution to the lively and odd topic of the roots of religion--that the human brain, which has become particularly adapted to creating gap-free stories, predisposes us to religious thought.