User Name:

Password:

FAQ Donate Join

Atheist Community of Austin
prayer in school

I am a teacher in texas...public school. I am asked to pause for a prayer several times during the year. It's already happened this school year and will for sure happen tomorrow at our convocation assembly tomorrow. These are manditory meetings for me! Can they do that? I am a state employee!

No. They can't.

Contact the Freedom From Religion foundation - http://ffrf.org/contact/

And Americans United for the Separation of Church and State:

http://www.au.org/site/News2?abbr=resources&page=NewsArticle&id=9059&security=1441&news_iv_ctrl=2422

These organizations MAY want to get involved by writing cease and desist letters, and possibly even filing legal action.

Thanks for speaking up. STAND UP for the separation!!

Out of curiosity, what grade/course do you teach?

Article VI of our Constitution provides that "no religious Test shall ever be required as a Qualification to any Office or public Trust under the United States." This prohibition applies to all subdivisions of government ... legislative, executive, and judicial ... federal, state, and local.

There is little doubt that Article VI protects all government school teachers from religious tests.

[This person sent mail directly to the ACA in addition to posting here. Below is the response I sent directly. I'm posting this as I imagine others might be in a similar situation. --Don]

What you're describing is a violation of the first amendment to the US constitution in that it is a government office providing an establishment of religion. While many of the defining Supreme Court cases on this topic have been about leading students in prayer, they also apply to adults. The establishment clause is under attack on a regular basis from zealous believers, who ironically claim to be patriots. The Atheist Community of Austin considers this such an important issue that it's part of our mission.